Wesley Chapel Methodist

Wilkinson County
Org 1870
Photography by Tony Cantrell

A group met under a brush arbor here and then in camp meetings until the membership formed Wesley Chapel Church in 1870. In 1872, a church building was erected and in 1879, John Chapman deeded two acres of land to the trustees for the church and graveyard.

For many years, Wesley Chapel had a small but vibrant congregation that shared a pastor with the other Methodist congregations in the area. But over the years, Wesley struggled with a dwindling membership, and by the 1970s, it was reduced to quarterly services. But all that changed in May 1977 when the chapel was reactivated. The old sanctuary was remodeled, an air conditioner was installed, two bathrooms were added, and a new space was added for Sunday School classes. In December 1984, a steeple was added, along with six stained glass memorial windows. In the early 1990s, a stained glass mural was installed above the pulpit, and in 1993, a social hall was added. 

Today, Wesley Chapel is an active church with services and Sunday School classes every week thanks to a group of dedicated stewards who ushered this sanctuary into a new chapter, rather than leaving it behind.